Amphoe Phra Pradaeng District

Amphoe Phra Pradaeng in Samut Prakan

Phra Pradaeng in Samut Prakan

Phra Pradeang was the original center of the area south of Bangkok near the mouth of the Chao Phraya River. Originally named “Nakhon Khuan Khan” (นครเขื่อนขันธ์), it was settled by Mon people. In 1815, King Rama II built the Pom Phlaeng Faifa Fort at the river’s bend. The fort is now a small park and is accessible to visitors. In 1819, the new town Samut Prakan (or Paknam) was established. Due to economic problems in the early-1930s, several administrative entities were abolished, including Phra Phradaeng Province, which had its districts assigned to Samut Prakan and Thonburi.

Google Map of Amphoe Phra Pradaeng district (click for map)
Google Map of Amphoe Phra Pradaeng district (click for map)

Neighboring districts are (from the west clockwise) Thung Khru, Rat Burana, Yan Nawa, Khlong Toei, Phra Khanong and Bang Na (all Bangkok), and the districts Mueang Samut Prakan, and Phra Samut Chedi of Samut Prakan. The district is on a bend on the Chao Phraya River. Phra Pradaeng district is divided into 15 sub-districts (tambon), which are further subdivided into 67 villages (muban). The town (Tetsaban Mueang) Phra Pradaeng covers the tambon Talad, the town Lat Luang, the tambon Bang Phueng, Bang Chak, and Bang Kharu. The township (Tetsaban Tambon) Samrong Thai covers the tambon Samrong Tai, Samrong, Samron Klang, Bang Hua Suea, and Bang Ya Phraek. There are six tambon administrative organizations (TAO) for the tambon not covered by the municipalities.

Mega Bridge
Bhumipol 1 Bridge in Phra Pradaeng

Amphoe Phra Pradaeng (พระประแดง) district is divided into 15 sub-districts:

  1. Talat ตลาด
  2. Bangkachao บางกะเจ้า
  3. Bang Pheung บางพึ่ง
  4. Bang Nampheung
  5. Bang Chaak บางจาก
  6. Bang Krasop บางกระสอบ
  7. Bang Kru บางครุ
  8. Bang Kor Bua บางกอบัว
  9. Bang Ya Phraek บางหญ้าแพรก
  10. Song Khanong ทรงคนอง
  11. Bang Hua Suea  บางหัวเสือ
  12. Samrong สำโรง
  13. Samrong Tai สำโรงใต้
  14. Samrong Klang สำโรงกลาง
Bangkachao sub-district in Phra Pradaeng. In the distance is Bangkok
Bangkachao sub-district in Phra Pradaeng. In the distance is Bangkok


Tourist Attractions in Amphoe Phra Pradaeng:

More Links:



Temples in Amphoe Phra Pradaeng:


Samut Prakan is divided into six districts (Amphoe). The districts are further subdivided into 50 sub-districts (tambon) and 405 villages (moo-ban). These six districts are: Amphoe Mueang, Amphoe Bang Bo, Amphoe Bang Phli, Amphoe Phra Pradaeng, Amphoe Phra Samut Chedi and Amphoe Bang Sao Thong.

Source of information: Wiki English