Amphoe Phra Samut Chedi

Amphoe Phra Samut Chedi in Samut Prakan

Amphoe Phra Samut Chedi

Phra Samut Chedi District (พระสมุทรเจดีย์) is named after the temple Phra Samut Chedi, which was built 1827-28 by King Rama II on an island in the Chao Phraya river – hence its popular name Phra Chedi Klang Nam (Chedi in the middle of the water). The island is now connected with the left river banks. At the mouth of the Chao Phraya is the Chulachomklao Fort, which was built in 1893 and came into use only once during the Paknam crisis in the same year. The fort is now accessible to visitors. The HTMS Maeklong, a former training ship of the Royal Thai Navy, is another attraction in the park.

map amphoe phra samut chedi
Google Map of Phra Samut Chedi district

Neighbouring districts of Phra Samut Chedi are Bang Khun Thian and Thung Khru in Bangkok, Phra Pradaeng and Amphoe Mueang in Samut prakan. The district is subdivided into 5 sub-districts (tambon), which are further subdivided into 42 villages (muban). There are two townships (thesaban tambon) – Phra Samut Chedi covers the whole tambon Pak Klong Bang Pla Kot, and Laem Fa Pha covers parts of tambon Laem Fa Pha and Nai Khlong Bang Pla Kot. There are a further four Tambon administrative organizations (TAO), for each tambon except Pak Klong Bang Pla Kot which has no non-municipal area.

Phra Samut Chedi District
Ban Khun Samut Chin in Na Kluea sub-district

Amphoe Phra Samut Chedi district is divided into 5 sub-districts and 42 villages:

  1. Na Kluea (นาเกลือ)
  2. Pak Khlong Bang Pla Kot (ปากคลองบางปลากด)
  3. Ban Khlong Suan (บ้านคลองสวน)
  4. Nai Khlong Bang Pla Kot (ในคลองบางปลากด)
  5. Laem Fapha (แหลมฟ้าผ่า)
Ban Sakhla in Na Kluea sub-district
Ban Sakhla in Na Kluea sub-district


Tourist Attractions in Amphoe Phra Samut Chedi:

More Links:



Temples in Amphoe Phra Samut Chedi:


Samut Prakan is divided into six districts (Amphoe). The districts are further subdivided into 50 sub-districts (tambon) and 405 villages (moo-ban). These six districts are: Amphoe Mueang, Amphoe Bang Bo, Amphoe Bang Phli, Amphoe Phra Pradaeng, Amphoe Phra Samut Chedi and Amphoe Bang Sao Thong.

Source of map and information: Wiki English