Amphoe Mueang District

Amphoe Mueang District

Amphoe Mueang is the capital district of Samut Prakan Province, central Thailand. The district has the highest population of all districts in Thailand. There are three major tourist attractions in Amphoe Mueang. Ancient Siam, in Tambon Bang Pu Mai, is a park that features downscaled replicas of all major historical buildings of Thailand. Erawan Museum, in Samrong Nua, is a large sculpture of the three-headed elephant. The other popular tourist draw is the Crocodile Farm and Zoo in Tambon Taiban.

Google Map of Amphoe Mueang district
Google Map of Amphoe Mueang district (click for map)

The district is subdivided into 13 subdistricts (tambon). The city (thesaban nakhon) Samut Prakan covers the whole tambon Pak Nam. There are 5 subdistrict municipalities (thesaban tambon) – Dan Sam Rong covers parts of tambon Samrong Nuea, Samrong Nuea covers further parts of tambon Samron Nuea and parts of Bang Mueang Mai and Thepharak. Bang Mueang covers parts of tambon Bang Mueang, Bang Mueang Mai and Thepharak. Bang Pu covers the whole tambon Bang Pu, Bang Pu Mai, Thai Ban and Thai Ban Mai; Phraek Sa covers parts of tambon Phraek Sa and Phraek Sa Mai. There are further 6 Tambon administrative organizations (TAOs) responsible for the non-municipal areas.

Sukhumwit Road near Ancient Siam. Gulf of Thailand in the distance
Sukhumwit Road near Ancient Siam. Gulf of Thailand in the distance

Amphoe Mueang district is divided into 13 sub-districts:

  1. Paknam (ปากน้ำ)
  2. Bang Pu (บางปู)
  3. Samrong Nua (สำโรงเหนือ)
  4. Bang Duan (บางด้วน)
  5. Bang Muang (บางเมือง)
  6. Bang Muang Mai (บางเมืองใหม่)
  7. Taiban (ท้ายบ้าน)
  8. Thaepharak (เทพารักษ์)
  9. Bang Pu Mai (บางปูใหม่)
  10. Taiban Mai (ท้ายบ้านใหม่)
  11. Phraek Ga Sa (แพรกษา)
  12. Phraek Ga Sa Mai (แพรกษาใหม่)
  13. Bang Prong (บางโปรง)
Sukhumwit Road and Khlong Mai


Tourist Attractions in Amphoe Mueang:

More Links:



Temples in Amphoe Mueang:


Samut Prakan is divided into six districts (Amphoe). The districts are further subdivided into 50 sub-districts (tambon) and 405 villages (moo-ban). These six districts are: Amphoe Mueang, Amphoe Bang Bo, Amphoe Bang Phli, Amphoe Phra Pradaeng, Amphoe Phra Samut Chedi and Amphoe Bang Sao Thong.

Source of map and information: Wiki English