Amphoe Bang Bo District

Amphoe Bang Bo in Samut Prakan

bang bo district
Google Map of Bang Bo district (click for map)

In the past, Bang Bo district had a small canal leading from Samrong Canal. It was the drainage way to the sea and was home to monitor lizards commonly known among the locals as “hia”. As a consequence, the villagers called the community “Bang Hia”. When more people moved to live there, the community grew to become Bang Hia sub-districtand then eventually Bang Hia district. In 1930, the Ministry of Interior changed the name from Bang Hia to Bang Bo, while Bang Hia sub-district was renamed as “Khlong Dan” in 1940.

Amphoe Bang Bo district is divided into 8 sub-districts:

  1. Bang Bo
  2. Khlong Dan
  3. Ban Ra Kat
  4. Khlong Suan
  5. Bang Phli Noi
  6. Preng
  7. Bang Phriang
  8. Khlong Niyom Yattra


Tourist Attractions in Amphoe Bang Bo:



Temples in Amphoe Bang Bo:


Samut Prakan is divided into six districts (Amphoe). The districts are further subdivided into 50 sub-districts (tambon) and 405 villages (moo-ban). These six districts are: Amphoe Mueang, Amphoe Bang Bo, Amphoe Bang Phli, Amphoe Phra Pradaeng, Amphoe Phra Samut Chedi and Amphoe Bang Sao Thong.